Heart made of paw printsBy Baylee S. 

 

One day when I was eight  I went to go feed the dogs. I saw that one of them named Hank and on his head was a tumor. I hurried and called my mom and said to her to look at his head.  She said that hopefully it is just a Abscess. So she hurried and called the vet and they couldn’t get him in right that day or that week. I was a little nervous. I kept thinking in my head that night what if he doesn’t get better. But I finally realized that saying things that are not posidevd will make him not get better. I needed to not think about that and think about the good things that could happen. That next day when I woke up I ran outside as fast as I could to see Hank lucky he was still there. 

I hugged Hank and saw the abscess was getting bigger. I got worried and hugged him some more. And ran inside to go get some treats. I got some and gave them to Hank and his sister Nyla. But the day passed fast and about one month later my mom finally could get him to the vet. On that day they checked his head for an abscess and brought Hank back with bad news. The doctor said to my mom while I was holding Hank’s leash the doctor said I’m very sorry to say but it is a tumor not an abscess. I’m very sorry we will try everything we can another day.

 I held him tightly and I told my mom what if they can’t save him my mom said think about if he does make it so  I did. So about a month later we took him back to the vet and I brought my closest friend so we had to leave Hank at the vet. So then about a week later we went to pick him up. His head had so much blood on his head I felt so bad for him. He even had tubes coming through his head and he had a cone  on him so he wouldn’t scratch his head.

So we took him home and let him stay inside and let Nyla inside too. So the month passed quickly. One night I heard my mom and dad were crying and told me we had to put him down. I hugged him so tight I couldn’t believe it. I gave him treats and told him I love him and hugged him one last time. To remember Hank we painted his paw and pushed it on a piece of paper and got him cremated.  

 

Image by Gordon Johnson from Pixabay 

print